Day 12 – A song from a band you hate
There are actually few bands that I actually hate (other than Creed, which I've already covered). I can tolerate most music, and even if a group's music is bad, bland, or just stupid, I don't necessarily hate them.
Even the easy hate targets I can't say that I hate. Nickelback? I like some of their harder stuff, and "Rockstar" is just too much fun not to sing along to. Daughtry? His/their stuff is pop pablum, sure, but it's listenable.
Even Van Hagar doesn't inspire hate for me; I still dig on Van Halen's old stuff, and listening to the stuff with Sammy Hagar as lead makes me more sad than angry. And Gary Cherone? I'll have a special episode based around that ill-conceived pairing.
So, I'm going to have to go outside my normal genre-based comfort zone and pick on music I don't normally listen to: country.
Again, I don't hate country as a genre. I like a few country songs as well, and a few country artists. And seeing as how if and when I go to Lone Star Steakhouse for my semi-regular dose of their ranch dressing that I HAVE to listen to it, I've learned to tolerate it, and make fun of it - not out of hatred, but because I'm just a smartass like that.
But there is one guy that inspires just as much hate if not moreso than Creed, and I'm fairly certain you'll agree:
"I Love This Bar" by Toby Keith
In the world of uber-patriotic, chauvinistic, unabashed rednecks, Toby Keith is king. If ever there was a man who would drive me to renounce my American citizenship, it is Mr. "We'll Put A Boot In Your Ass; It's The American Way" here.
The thing is, he's not really that intense of a singer. Even when he's flying the flag at full staff and getting ready to chow on raw venison, his vocal style comes off as... well... bored.
I chose this song specifically for two reasons: 1) it's the song of his that's freshest in my mind, having heard it at a bar very recently, and b) it's a good example of what his songs are like lyrically and vocally. It comes off as having a trait most people associate with rednecks: laziness. Like he's not even trying.
And that's what infuriates me the most: How can you have that much bombast, that much over-the-top militaristic love of God and country be that fucking boring? And, worse, how does he still have fans?!
/sigh/ There isn't much else to say... primarily there isn't much else to it. Rest assured that this is my last foray into the realm of country music. I can't go back there. I won't go back there.
No comments:
Post a Comment