Thursday, February 17, 2011

WTF, Grammys? (Rant warning)

I know that the voting process for these awards is already batshit insane, but this, I feel, deserves a rant.

Here we are, less than a week removed from the Grammy awards, and I'm still trying to wrap my brain around one thing:

Album of the Year

Now, as anyone who knows me know, I'm a huge Eminem freak. Recovery saved my sanity, blah, blah, blah... so, yeah, I'm pissed that Recovery didn't win best album, but that's not what is vexing me.

Here's a pop quiz. What do these three albums have in common:

Eminem's Recovery
Lady Antebellum's Need You Now
Lady Gaga's The Fame Monster

All three were nominated for Album of the Year, plus Best Album in their respective genres, and each of those albums won in their category.

Know what else they have in common?

THEY DIDN'T WIN ALBUM OF THE YEAR!

Know what album isn't on that list?

No, not Katy Perry's Teenage Dream

It's Arcade Fire's The Suburbs. You know, the album that won?

Know what it didn't win? BEST ALTERNATIVE ALBUM!

So, basically, we have a Best Album of the year that wasn't even the Best Album IN ITS OWN GENRE!

Let's think about that for a moment: The Black Keys' Brothers won Best Alternative Album over The Suburbs.

Now, we could easily say that it was a close contest and The Suburbs came in second, but it's entirely possible that it came in dead last. The Grammy voting is by secret ballot. We may never know how close or not the voting was.

What does this mean? It means that the best Rap, Country, and Pop albums were not better than an also-ran in the Alternative genre - that at least one if not more albums THAT WEREN'T NOMINATED are better than the best albums in three different genres.

Fuck you, Grammys.